Warbound from the Start…

… and Warbound to the End!

When DCL came out and I was planning on building a Secret Society deck, which never happened 😦 , I said that the next deck I’m gonna build will have to require a lot less thinking. Why? Cause my brain melts with almost all the decks I have. So what that means was I’m on the road of building a beatdown deck. I already started with my curve Brotherhood Reservist, which wins 25% of the games I played with it. haha Anyway, when the teams were announced for Marvel Universe, I saw my dream team. WARBOUND. Of course! Who else embodies the word ‘beatdown’?! And Hulk is in the pic of Savage Beatdown… πŸ˜€

I saw every card of Warbound yesterday. I was as excited as a diabetic in a candy store… haha Wow, what a simile. haha Anyway, yeah, I’m definitely going Warbound on this set. From what I see, this team requires more thinking than my Brotherhood Reservist, but it definitely needs less thinking than my Fantastic Four or the Deadpool deck. That’s good enough for me!

I started thinking on what the deck should look like in Silver, Modern, and Modern Age BYOS points of view. I’m having difficulties on who should be more dominant on what drop, since the effects of non-Hulk Warbound characters are crazy and Hulk is crazier! I don’t know if I should go Mono or Team-Up, since ALL the plot twists of Warbound are SICK. Looks like I won’t be sleeping much for this week! haha Joke… πŸ˜€

Since I’m all excited for Warbound, I’ll post the pics of the cards. Thanks for the uploads, im_all_noobish of VSRealms! [Whoever you are… haha Thanks! πŸ˜€ ]

Here are the pics:

(WARNING: A LOT OF PICS in this entry. And their file sizes are huge, too. πŸ˜€ haha)

1 drops:

Now, Elloe Kaifi is kinda okay in a deck, but like other 1drops, she’ll be a dead card or just food for plot twists with “discard a character card” for turns 2 and onwards. Now, if I have Mastermind Excello on turns 2 and / or 3, I may have to underdrop for him. Why? Look at the first ability. WOW. Any character that helps thin my deck is good enough for me!

2 drops:

Miek is definitely a 4-of in any Hulk deck. Just look at it. Instant Blind Sided. SOLD! haha With Rick Jones, he should be at 2 or 3 each only, I think… haha Around 70-80% of the time [haven’t done the math. hehe], your rally will be successful. But you have Mastermind Excello already. Provided you have a Hulk in hand…

3 drops:

Here’s the difficult part. Who’s my primary? I know Hulk is BIG, but if I don’t have another Hulk in my hand, I’m screwed. And look at Hiroim. Such a tempting effect. But do I just go prepare for Hulk? And on what turn should he appear? I was thinking of turn 5, but his 5 drop is… Meh. Argh… Dilemma dilemma…

Archangel, on the other hand, is just the Flying Kick of this deck. Or the backup of the backup 3drop, whoever that backup 3 would be. haha

4 drops:

Here, I think I’m gonna go Brood as my primary, with Hulk as the backup. Brood’s effect is a must in my opinion. And Hulk-4 is for anti winnies… and for Loner-Hulk.

5 drops:

With Korg’s ability, I’m sure that my opponent has to go through Hulk TWICE. That’s sweet! But going Brood on 4 tells me that I SHOULD go for Hulk on 5. But look. He’s 10/10. Okay. “Blank text” in my book. That’s why I posted the Marvel Defender Hulk-5. He grows! Yeah, Still got the dilemma. Hulk on 4 or 5? 😦 *sighs*

6 drops:

This is a no-brainer. Caiera, Hulk’s hot-in-a-freakishly-gray-and-alien-way wife, is the drop to be. She readies Hulk for every character he stuns. SOLD! No need for the 6 drop Hulk.

7 drops:

Hercules may not be good for Avengers, his primary affiliation, but he’s awesome for Warbound! Dunno how and why he got that affiliation, but thank God he did! haha I may also put in one copy of Hulk-7, for the stall freaks out there. haha πŸ˜€

Now, for the PLOT TWISTS! πŸ˜€

The life of the deck… for those who don’t own any Mobilize. haha This kinda reminds me of Indebted, so I have to put at least a Hulk from 3-5 & 7. [Still no need for Hulk on 6] haha


I have mixed emotions for this card. It’s good, if winnies team attack Hulk. Bad if one-on-one. DUH. But I may put 2 in a deck… πŸ˜€


I am upset with this card. Sure, it helps with stunning non-Hulk cards for their effect, but only a +1/+1 counter for each stunned? Maybe in an IG army team-up deck, it’s great. But I can’t imagine this in a Mono-Warbound… Hey, maybe someone may break this rare’s power. We’ll know soon enough. πŸ˜€


It’s all about the beatdown. Why would Hulk be the only one doing the damage? His pals [and wife] can kick ass like any superpowered alien out there! haha +3 is good, and with Hulk helping out, it’s a 2 cost Armageddon! haha!


X-Statix anyone? Maybe with The End of the World, Hulk Red can be maximized. +4 is huge and important for any loners out there!

They’re both the same, but the one on the right is the Easter Egg of MUN. +8 attack on a Hulk on turn 3. Simply… WOW. The 3 drop Hulk can take down an average 7-drop! A 3 taking down a 7!! Now that’s power! A MUST FOR ANY HULK DECK!


A better Pathetic Attempt. It readies Hulk. Well, you lose endurance for stunning him, unless you removed Hiroim from the game, but you beatdown your opponent nonetheless. So take some to beat some… or in Hulk’s case, beat A LOT.


It’s a sure way to kill an attacker. haha Dunno if I want it though…


It’s the Midnight Sons (or Neighborhood Watch) of Warbound. Nuff said. πŸ˜€ haha

Location Location Location


It’s good off-initiative, or if you’re gonna recruit another Hulk. Definitely speeds up the game with its burn effect. Great for Loner-Hulk. πŸ˜€


I’d put around 2 or 3 of this in a deck. It gives flight! And stuns a Warbound character for Hulk effects at ‘almost’ invulnerable way. It’s also great that the UDE team incharge of Warbound made this Terraform. πŸ˜€


This is good to wipe out the board of your opponent. But with a lot of pumps and Imperial Dreadnaught, I don’t see how it can’t be possible… [hidden?] Okay, I may need one or two in a deck. πŸ˜› hahaha

[rant]
Y’all know that this is the late Red King’s home world, right? But is it the same as Saakar in Coming of Galactus? Well, in the version, it is the same… Or it’s just a typographical error on UDE’s part? hehe
[/rant]

There. I just blogged what I felt. Now I feel good! So good! I have to make my decks now! hahaha!!

Wish me luck guys… I hope Warbound ROCKS! πŸ˜€

Posted in vs. 5 Comments »

5 Responses to “Warbound from the Start…”

  1. zabimaru Says:

    wow, nice breakdown of the Warbound! ^_^

    hope you get to assemble the team, hehehe πŸ˜€

  2. Gotenks Says:

    With your help, it is possible, sir. πŸ˜€ hahaha

  3. carebuggers Says:

    good luck with the cards.
    End of the World+Caiera = End of your opponent’s world.
    Wow, it’s just as the great as the story.

  4. Gotenks Says:

    Thanks sir! haha

    And yeah, Planet Hulk and World War Hulk are the best story arcs in Marvel! (for me haha) Anyway, I’m more excited about the movie! I hope it’s not a big disappointment like the first Hulk movie…

  5. A Hulk-y Christmas « Gotenks’ VS System Blog :) Says:

    […] No 1-drops: I said in my early Warbound entry that the 1-drops of Warbound are a must in a deck. Well, I tried to fit them in the deck, but I […]


Leave a Reply

