It’s A Secret… Shhh…

I was always fond of Secret Six. Dunno their history in the comics, but in VS, I always wanted them to work; whether normal curve or its alternate win condition, Secret Six Victorious. But seriously, I failed. Then, when my friend, Peter (lionboy in vs.skillze.com), played against me using his Injustice Gang hand burn, it got my attention. I wanted to build an IG deck, too! But I only have commons and uncommons of that particular deck. (Thanks for the cards, Peter! haha) Anyway, I got no Power Siphons, so defense would be a problem. Then, after a long hobby league (March 18, 2008, Tuesday, went 2-2 5th out of 10 with my Gotham Knights, hehe), I fixed my bed getting ready to sleep while wondering what to do with IG, how to keep Lex Luthor, Nefarious Philanthropist in play. Then, a flashback let me remember an article in VSSystem… And I quote:

The Secret Six provides some help for keeping Lex Luthor, Nefarious Philanthropist alive in the form of Dodge the Bullet.” -Ryan Alarie

It was a great idea! I got Dodge the Bullet, so why not? I slept through it and created the deck after breakfast the next day. Here’s what I got:

4x IQ, Ira Quimby
4x Deadshot, Dead Aim
4x Lex Luthor, Nefarious Philanthropist
1x Sam Scudder <> Mirror Master, Reflective Rogue
1x Parademon, Apokoliptian Ally
4x Ragdoll, Resilient Rogue
1x The Joker, Headline Stealer
3x Circe, Evil Enchantress
1x Cheshire, Jade
4x Scarecrow, Psycho Psychologist
4x Scandal, Savage Spawn
1x The Joker, Permanent Vacation

4x Secret Files
4x All Too Easy
4x Criminal Mastermind
4x Gang-Up, Team-Up
4x Dodge the Bullet
4x It’s Not Over Yet
2x Help Wanted, Team-Up
2x Unmasked

My ideas for this deck are restrict my opponent’s plot twist usage, beat them up with All Too Easy, and burn them while I’m at it. Here’s what I do while testing the deck:

Mulligan Condition: Lex Luthor, Nefarious Philanthropist; or IQ, Ira Quimby and Secret Files.
Initiative: Evens (or go second. same thing. haha)

Tips so far:

– If you can put Deadshot on turn three, go ahead. He’s an extra character. πŸ˜€

– Since you draw a lot of cards, do not hesitate to discard a card for Ragdoll. It helps keep a character in play. Why not? πŸ˜€

– Ragdoll is a sure stunned character, so having Parademon, Apokoliptian Ally in your hand is not bad. Search for him if you like. Adding more characters in play would help you a lot. And he serves as your ‘attacking 3drop’, cause you don’t want anything bad happening to Lex. Remember: Parademon, Apokoliptian Ally is ‘Remove from the game’ and not ‘Reveal’ anymore… πŸ˜€ haha

– As much as possible, save It’s Not Over Yet for the 5th or 6th turn. With Dodge the Bullet and Ragdoll’s Vengeance, saving Lex’s ass or another character in play won’t be a problem. Why save It’s Not Over Yet? It helps you gain life against fellow endurance burners… hehe I said as much as possible, so it’s still up to you… or the situation.

– 5th turn is still situational. I prefer burning with Circe, Evil Enchantress, but I’m kinda going towards beating down with Cheshire, Jade. Well, if you have the initiative on the 5th turn, use Cheshire to bully the opponent’s 4 drop and beat the 5 drop with Ragdoll + All Too Easy (get stunned and discard a card). Get the picture? πŸ˜€ haha But if you don’t have initiative on the 5th turn, Circe’s your girl.

– Scandal, Savage Spawn is only there to search for ongoing plot twist like Criminal Mastermind and Gang-Up. Abuse her. hehe With that said, a boosted 5 drop Scarecrow, Psycho Psychologist is your main character for the 6th turn.

– You can do the ‘beatdown’ stated above on the 6th turn, too. Attack your opponent’s 6drop with Ragdoll + All Too Easy, then attack the 5drop with Scarecrow, then burn them with Scarecrow and Circe. I hope the game ends there. haha

That’s all. It’s a work in progress, so any good advice is welcome. Please don’t suggest Mobilize or Enemy of My Enemy… I’m just a student with a small allowance and I can’t afford those cards… (I cry at night just thinking about that… huhu) haha Just joking about the crying part. Anyway, I’ll tinker with it some more… It went 1-1 against a Brotherhood Reservist (beatdown Silver build) deck, so I guess it’s still okay. hehe Good luck to this! haha

And I haven’t thought up of a name for this. Oh well… It will hit me one day. haha πŸ˜€

4 Responses to “It’s A Secret… Shhh…”

  1. graymalkin Says:

    i suggest EomE to improve consistency… hehehe, just kidding :p

    it’s nice to see you writing again, Gotenks. keep it up this summer! no more excuses for you! :p

  2. Gotenks Says:

    Thanks graymalkin! =P hahaha Might take summer classes, but I’ll definitely try writing more! haha

  3. TheBraveandtheBlog Says:

    I love Help Wanted, and think it is one of the best team-ups in the game. I have a Secret Six/Revenge Squad deck that is pretty devastating, and it always sure to annoy my opponent.

    Great work, and I look forward to seeing some more posts from you.

  4. Gotenks Says:

    Thanks for the compliment, sir! πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

