Spending Christmas with the Family

Christmas is almost near. In a few days, people will be gathered around their Christmas trees giving out the gifts, opening presents, having fun, and stuff like that. And what better group of people to spend this time with than your family. 😀 On Tuesday, I’ll be spending my time with my family. But on HL days, I will be with a different kind of family… A Family of Four. 😀

When Marvel Legends was just previewing its first few cards, I had my mind set on X-men and Doom… and Mobilize. [the last one never happened… 😦 huhu] But a player in the form of Andrew Francisco [spooky2799 in vs.skillze.com] sold all of his Fantastic Four rares from Marvel Origins set [and a few decks, too] to me at a reasonable price. And since Signal Flare and It’s Clobberin’ Time! were reprinted, guess what became my top priority for Marvel Legends… 😀 hehe

Family of Four

Characters: 30

2x Uatu the Watcher, He Who Watches
4x Human Torch, Matchstick
2x Mr. Fantastic, Stringbean
4x Invisible Woman, First Lady of the Fantastic Four

2x Thing, Idol O’Millions
4x Mr. Fantastic, Critical Thinker
1x Human Torch, Nova Blast
3x Thing, Heavy Hitter
1x Invisible Woman, Sight Unseen
3x Human Torch, Flame On!
1x Mr. Fantastic, Dimensional Explorer
1x Thing, The Ever-Lovin’ Blue-Eyed Thing
1x Hulk, The Fantastic Hulk
1x Silver Surfer, Norrin Radd

Plot Twists: 26
4x Signal Flare
4x Family of Four
4x Force Field Projection
4x It’s Clobberin’ Time!
4x Stretch Out
3x Torch and Thing
2x A Proud Zinco Product
1x Only Human

Locations: 4
4x Four Freedoms Plaza

With a few suggestions from the people of the TCGPlayer.com Forums, I have this Fantastic Four deck. It’s not yet final, since I have to search for people who are willing to let go of their Only Humans… I need three more… But for now, Torch and Thing will suffice.

Obviously, I focused on the four main characters of the Fantastic Four, since this is a Family of Four deck. My drops are:

1: Uatu [just for fun. not really important]
2: Human Torch [backup: Mr. Fantastic]
3: Invisible Woman [my mulligan condition. backup: Thing]
4: Mr. Fantastic [backup: Human Torch]
5: Thing [backup: Invisible Woman]
6: Human Torch [backup: Mr. Fantastic]

7: If all four FF characters are still in play, I go with Hulk. But if not, Thing is the go-to-guy.
8: Silver Surfer… duh

I love to have backup plans, that’s why my backup drops are “perfect” for the Four Freedoms Plaza setup. If I got no choice but to recruit Mr. Fantastic, Stringbean on 2, I will. And then recruit Human Torch, Nova Blast on 4. But, if the cards in my hand are so disgusting, I will opt to KO Mr. Fantastic, Stringbean for recruiting Mr. Fantastic, Critical Thinker.

Now, I’ll talk about some of the cards here, like I always do. hehe

Mulligan condition: Invisible Woman, First Lady of the Fantastic Four
– She is the heart of the team. With Human Torch, Matchstick having a very small defense, Invisible Woman’s reinforcement sure helps out in the endurance department. And Force Field Projection needs her to work, so she’s gotta be the heart, right? haha

Mr. Fantastic, Critical Thinker
– He helps out in thinning the deck… And looking for important cards. I still have a hard time in choosing the right time to activate him or to attack with him. But I’ll do good soon. hehe

Force Field Projection
– One of the muscles of the deck. This card helps in maintaining the presence of the other 3 FF members in play. It’s also great when you have a concealed Invisible Woman.

Family of Four
– The other muscle of the deck. It’s a +3/+3 [at least… when I use it I mean. hehe] or a +4/+4, which is better! Who doesn’t want that?? Plus, it’s where the deck name came from. hehe

Stretch Out
– With Mr. Fantastic, Critical Thinker having such a big ass, Stretch Out is mainly for defensive purposes. It can stop an unpumped 5 or 6 drop’s attack! [especially the 12 ATK 6 drops out there] That’s great! Or use it for attacking… And I’ll just do that if I have Torch and Thing in my hand. hehe

Four Freedoms Plaza
– If I have Family of Four, I gotta have Four Freedoms Plaza. Around 70-80% of the time, I find Four Freedoms Plaza at AT MOST turn 4, usually thanks to Mr. Fantastic, Critical Thinker. And with it, I search for Force Field Projection and Family of Four, which ever I may need for the current turn or the next. Or just search for any card. ANY CARD. Again, who doesn’t want that?? It saved my ass in 3 games, so it won’t go away. haha

This is a Modern Age deck. To make it “better” at Golden, I just replace the 3x Torch and Thing with 3x Cosmic Radiation. Double Force Field Projection and Mr. Fantastic, Critical Thinker!! 😀 haha

I’m still thinking of replacing a card [maybe Hulk] and put an Invisible Woman, Shield of The Four instead, but I manage to have her 3 drop version still alive at turns 6 and 7, thanks to Force Field Projection. 😀 hehe

Speaking of Invisible Woman, I may make her my Main Legend for the Legends Format. We have a very “weird” and strict rule in this format, but it helps us make new and creative decks… I’ll talk about it in my next post. hehe 😀

There you have it. The other cards are self explanatory, so I won’t make this post any longer [and boring?] as it is right now. haha All I can say now is this: Love your family and love THIS family. 😀 haha

Advance Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and Advance Happy New Year to everyone! 😀

4 Responses to “Spending Christmas with the Family”

  1. vssjgotenks Says:

    Thanks graymalkin! 🙂

  2. It’s A Beatdown Saturday « Super Saiyajin Gotenks’ VS System Weblog :) Says:

    […] few months after my Fantastic Four blog entry and a few card transactions, this is what my Family of Four looks […]

  3. F.F. – R.I.P. « Gotenks’ VS System Blog :) Says:

    […] They actually did it. They freaking killed Human Torch. My second most favorite member in the Family of Four… I would have felt a little bit okay if Reed died, since his children are as damn smart as he […]


Leave a Reply

